top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlotte Easterling

Book Review: The Gender Game by Bella Forrest

Post created by Maggie


My dear friends,


Hello! I am back with more medical debunking within the popular media! I received such rave reviews from my last post [see Medical Tv: Is it Accurate?] that I figured I might as well keep the train rolling and hit my viewers with my latest thoughts of medical information and it’s accuracy. 


While I am a classic millenial in that I love a good movie night or binge watching session, I am also like the stereotypical counterpart in that I adore a good book, a comfy blanket and a big chair to kick my feet up and absorb myself into the lives of others. Recently, I have found myself consumed with a good ‘shoot em up’ mystery. Maybe it’s the action, maybe it’s the twists and turns, maybe it’s the involvement of medicine- who knows! But I just have found myself unable to put books down. My most recent choice falls under all of the above. A mystery involving a surprising amount of medicine [and plot twists!]. Bella Forrest writes a 7 book series called The Gender Game. Think the Hunger Games meets the Divergent Series with a few more twists and betrayal. A war going on between two provinces proves to contain a lot of injuries, and thus a lot of analysis from the operating room. Let’s get started on a quick little debunking, shall we?


My first issue with this book and it’s lack of medicinal knowledge is it’s terminology. If you are going to use real terms, at least use spell check! After a particularly gruesome battle, two soldiers are in dire need of an abdominal repair. Words such as the Duodenum, Appendix and Spleen are improperly phrased as well as their duties within the body are poorly represented. Our organs work hard, don’t sell them short! 

My next issue with this book is it gives a bit of false hope. I don’t know about you, but I have never suffered a gunshot wound. Despite this, I know for a fact if a lead object with enough velocity in it to tear through a sheetrocked wall ripped through my thoracic cavity, I would not be up and walking within a few days. Try a few WEEKS! The age this book is aimed at is a very naive group that is easily swayed by what they read- do them a favor! Keep the important things truthful and don’t give out false hope. Also as a side note, how about don’t get shot?!


One final issue I have regarding the medicine portion of this book is it’s representation of doctors. The medical field is ENORMOUS. It is filled with so many jobs, some requiring minimal schooling, others needing only a short time. Despite this, all are necessary to the function of patient treatment. One role does not do it all, nor should it. Proper care results from a team of medically knowledgeable humans working together, putting their strengths to use and knowing when someone can do something better. Patient care is the most important thing. This book, while entertaining, poorly represents how the medical field works. Surgeons, while they may be the most knowledgeable and skilled due to the schooling required to gain their credentials, can’t do it all. They can’t perform reconstructive surgery, and provide anesthetics, and cleans/dress wounds, and wait bedside for ONE patient to wake up, especially in a war zone! Nurses are vital. Anesthesiologist’s are needed. CNA’s are important. Working in a TEAM is important!!!! Don’t forget that readers. 


While I know this book is not an exact representation of the real world, and things were probably changed on purpose, it still bothers me deep down. Now especially, the medical personnel in our world deserve our utmost praise and thanks! So remember this young and old generations:  not everything you read comes straight from a textbook. 

2 views0 comments
bottom of page